What I learned from NYSCATE Annual

conference.gif

Recently I spent 4 days at the NYSCATE Annual Conference in Rochester, NY. Although a conference for K-12 teachers, I was able to glean some ideas to use here at Albany Law. I perused the the exhibitor floor and among the 200+ vendors, I found many tools that would be useful to Law professors:

chalkboard.jpg 
CPS Chalkboard – allows teachers walk around the room when using the clickers.

home_interactive.gif
Mimio Interactive – turns any whiteboard into an interactive surface

hitachi_t15xl_thumb.jpg
Interactive touch panels – allows you to draw and annotate facing the students

At the workshops, Web 2.0 seems to be topic of the day.  So I attended sessions on blogging, wikis and podcasting – all of which I hope to implement here.   I also learned about the new features Adobe Acrobat Pro 8.0.

Of course, I networked with old and new friends and talked  a lot of “techie” talk.  Definitely a worthwhile conference.

Leave a Reply

